overview
stories of chinatown
trip planner
what's happening
news
media room
visitor information
shop info << directory
Heritage Marker SB12 - A Chinese Medicine Shop
Learn more about Chinatown's rich history by visiting our Heritage Markers. Installed at places of historical significance around Chinatown, each plaque provides a short history of the location in three languages - English, Simplified Chinese and Japanese.

Eu Yan Sang is one of Singapore's oldest and most well-known Chinese medicine houses. Started in 1879 by patriarch Eu Kwong Pai, its first shop opened in Gopeng, Perak. At that time, many coolies working in tin mines there used opium to relieve their aching muscles. Eu's intention was to provide a healthier medicinal option for these workers. Yan Sang literally means "caring for mankind".

Subsequently, Eu's eldest son, Eu Tong Sen, took over the business. It was under his directorship that the company flourished. Eu Yan Sang shops were opened all over Malaya as well as in China and Hong Kong.

This building is the first Eu Yan Sang shop in Singapore, opened in 1910. Besides medicine shops, the Eu enterprise also owned many properties, particularly in Chinatown. These included the Great Southern Hotel and the Majestic Theatre. The street where these landmarks were located is named after Eu Tong Sen.

In addition to providing the coolies with medicine, Eu Yan Sang also started a remittance agency to help them send money back to China.
address
Temple Street
+ upload photo and videos
Share |