stories of chinatown
trip planner
what's happening
media room
visitor information
overview of greater chinatown
Today's Chinatown comprises five districts:
Telok Ayer, Bukit Pasoh, Tanjong Pagar, Kreta Ayer and Ann Siang Hill. Designated as conservation areas by the Urban Redevelopment Board in 1989, these districts have over the years cultivated their own unique identity.

telok ayer

Besides being known for its picturesque places of worship, Telok Ayer also features quirky shops, cafes and drinking holes, all found on the slopes of Ann Siang Hill.
  • Old temples and mosques
  • Eclectic cafes and shops
  • Offbeat drinking holes
Recommendations     Telok Ayer directory

bukit pasoh

With historical associations housed right next to trendy hotels and restaurants, Bukit Pasoh is a charming blend of the old and new.
  • Clan associations and cultural societies
  • Chic boutique hotels
  • European and fusion restaurants
Recommendations     Bukit Pasoh directory

tanjong pagar

Once the center of operations for rickshaw pullers, Tanjong Pagar today is a mish-mash of residential apartments, commercial buildings and nightspots.
  • Pinnacle@Duxton, a 50-storey architectural landmark
  • Singapore's largest enclave of bridal saloons
  • Pubs, bars and karaoke lounges
Recommendations     Tanjong Pagar directory

kreta ayer

The heart of Chinatown, Kreta Ayer is home to an assortment of traditional trades, homegrown brands and some of the best hawker food around.
  • Heritage brands
  • Street hawkers and eateries
Recommendations     Kreta Ayer directory

ann siang hill

A recent influx of new businesses and developments have filled the slopes of Ann Siang Hill with quirky shops, cafes and drinking holes - making it a great weekend hangout for the younger crowd.
  • Eclectic cafes
  • Quirky shops
  • Offbeat drinking holes
Recommendations     Ann Siang Hill directory

Share |